The Physical

9/12

So feel as if I have accomplished an amazing feat: I ate spaghetti with chopsticks! A friend of mine discovered a new dining place on campus called Hollywood. He took us there the other night and I thought I had died and gone to heaven. They have a variety of foods from all over the world including spaghetti, chicken parmesan, fried chicken, fries, bacon and cheese covered rice, stir-fry, sushi, and a variety of noodle dishes. Another plus, it is cheap. It is about 15-20yuan per dish. I think I have found a new place for dinner.

In other news, I had my physical today. As you may recall, I had to get a physical in order to apply for my residency permit. It was a lot more invasive than I thought it would be. To get the physical done, I had to visit six different rooms and get a check mark for visiting. First, I had to get blood drawn. Apparently the nurse who was drawing my blood couldn’t find a vain and thus she dug around in my arm for approximately five minutes. Needless to say, it was not how I wanted to start my physical.  I then had to get a chest x-ray, an ear, nose and throat exam, and an eye exam. Following this, I had to get an EKG. I felt like Frankenstein’s monster with as many wires and clamps I had hooked up to me. I had something that looked like jumper cables attached to my arms and ankles and rubber stoppers attached to my chest, stomach and legs. Finally, I had a surgical exam. This checked my height, weight and lymph nodes. Unfortunately, I was too tall for their machine and thus I had to have my height taken by tape measure. Now, the guy who went with me was probably 6’4’’. The doctor basically had to get a chair just take his height.

All in all it was an interesting experience but not one that I am looking forward to repeating. I will be glad when all of this is taken care of. Perhaps then I can actually relax.

In other news, I am thinking about doing some networking while in China. Last January, I did some networking in the Portland area. I have kept in contact with the people that I met and many of them are willing to help me find contacts to visit while I am over here. Since I couldn’t do the internship due to my classes conflicting, I decided that I might as well still make a name for myself while I am here. Hopefully I will make some contacts over here and who knows, perhaps it will lead to something greater in the future! Cross your fingers for me!

谢谢你们.再见!

~爱丽

One thought on “The Physical

  1. Miss Ashley! Your thinking is ‘right on’ with your networking idea!!! Now, make certain to find some pumpkin cakes and let me know what you think! Xia Xia Tyler

Leave a Reply

