Unforgettable Experiences

11/12

Well, it is getting harder and harder to post my blog. Not only am I getting busier, I can no longer get on to the site where my blog resides. Thus, I will apologize but blog posts might come few and far between. That being said, I would like to update you on what I have been up to the last week. First, on November 7th, I spent my day at a local café watching the election.  I happened to get there early enough to have an All American Breakfast which consisted of eggs, bacon, pancakes, home fries, toast and hot chocolate. Let me take a moment to describe this breakfast. Don’t get me wrong, it was good but it was different from what we would normally eat. First off, over easy eggs means no yoke. In order to have a yoke to dunk your toast in, you must order sunny side up. The bacon tasted more like ham than the traditional bacon. The pancakes were extremely sweet, as if they had dumped extra sugar in the batter. The home fries were good but had different seasoning on them than I am used to. Overall, it was an interesting take on an All American Breakfast and one I would most likely try again.

Now on to the more exciting part of this day, I got to watch the election, live, in China. How many people are that lucky?  There were probably fifty people all squeezed into a small room around a giant projector. The energy in the room was amazing. I will say that it was a little difficult to sit there seeing as I was surrounded by a room full of democrats when I happen to lean more toward republican. Everyone would cheer when Obama won a state and boo when Romney won one. Despite this fact, it was an interesting experience and one I will never forget.

The next exciting experience I have had since my last update was a trip to the zoo. I felt like a kid again as I ran around discovering new animal after new animal. The Beijing Zoo is much like the zoo at home only with different and more exotic animals. The zoo had a variety of different stations in which animals lived. There was an African section, and Australian section, an American section, an Aquarium, a panda house, an arctic animal house and a children’s zoo. How cool is that? I got to see a kangaroo! Also, I got to pet a zebra! Can you tell I am excited? I think I took about two hundred pictures of different animals. The aquarium was also pretty amazing. There were hundreds of species of fish and other aquatic animals. The one weird thing I saw while I was at the zoo was that the Children’s zoo consisted of only two types of animals: cats and dogs. I have never been to a zoo that has had cats and dogs on display. I did find it a little sad though as I think cats and dogs should be in a loving home where someone can rub their bellies every night before going to bed. I don’t know about you, I just find it kind of sad.

Now, some of you may have heard that the Beijing Zoo mistreats its animals. I, however, did not see a lot of evidence of this. Yes, there were a few things such as the elephants and giraffes having smaller than necessary cages and one of the pandas looking miserable but for the most part, the animals seemed happy.  Sure, they ate anything in sight but it was hard to tell if the animals were truly hungry or if they were just so used to people feeding them that they gobbled up the food. Yes, it was unfortunate to see what the people were feeding them as I saw a woman feeding a zebra cotton candy, but I can only hope that they get real food more often in their diet.

Overall, the zoo was another amazing experience that I will never forget. This is especially true considering I took over two hundred photos to prove I was there.

And now it is back to the grind, as usual.

Until next time,

Ashley

 

Leave a Reply

